Pondering what to include in the literature review

Last week the project has not progressed as much as it should have. In Wednesdays class we talked about interview techniques and writing literature reviews, this I have to say made me feel anxious, I simply haven’t done enough deep reading. I have shortlisted my keys texts that I now need to immerse myself in, they are: Foucault’s The Will To Knowledge History of Sexuality: 1; Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick’s Epistemology of the Closet; Michael Warner’s Fear Of A Queer Planet; Judith Butler’s Gender Trouble; Jonathon Green’s All Dressed Up; Shelia Rowbotham’s A Century Of Women; Cameron & Kulick’s Language and Sexuality Reader; Mark Simpson’s Anti Gay; Richard Dyer’s The Culture Of Queers; Norman Bryson’s Todd Haynes’s Poison and Queer Cinema (in Invisible Culture); Alexander Doty’s Whose Text Is It Anyway? (in Making Things Perfectly Queer); Joel Ryce-Menuhin’s Naked and Erect: Male Sexuality and Feeling; Annamarie Jagose’s Queer Theory; Mark Simpson’s Interview with Oscar Wilde, Metrosexuals, New Lads and Old Men and Drag Addicts (in It’s a Queer World). Vanessa Engel’s documentaries broadcast 2010 titled Women: Libbers and Women: Activists. Paul Burston’s 1998 documentary Beneath The Sheets; Hugh David’s On Queer Street; Teal Triggs’s Generation Terrorists: Fanzines and Communication and David Cook’s Redesigning Men: Arena Magazine, Image and Identity (in Communicating Design ed. Teal Triggs); Jeremy Leslie‘s magCulture; William Owen’s Modern Magazine Design; Emigre 41 The Magazine Issue specifically contributors Kenneth Fitzgerald, Denise Gonzales-Crisp and Martin Venezky. This issue is especially interesting in terms of modes of writing, I think this will be fundamental. Gonzales-Crisp has written in the form of a screen play, and Venezky is a nostalgic almost biographical position.

I realize this list is long, and I think needs editing, but for now it can act as a guide.

Writing this blog, specifically reviewing the works I am currently reading is helping to formulate the Literature Review. There’s no doubt that reading is important, my friend Simon Cowell (no not that one) told me when he was writing for his Masters in Design History last year, that the more he read the easier it made the writing process, this is now dawning on me.

I’m looking forward to the Spectrum launch event at LSE on Wednesday, there will be a snapshot of the Hall-Carpenter archive, which houses many gay publications including gay news. I’m hoping to meet up with Jonathan Kemp, I took a creative writing class with him last summer.

I’m meeting Professor Richard Dyer again next bank holiday Monday as I want to chat with him about his involvement with Gay Left, I’m currently reading Richard’s Culture of Queers, it’s proving to be invaluable, especially his essay on authorship, central to this course, and my starting point for this major project, what authorial position do I take in my writing and what authorial voice do I adopt. Is being gay/queer always inherent, a predisposition if you like? No doubt Richard will have a view.

Leave a Reply

