Major project musings 2

As I was cleaning my neighbours apartment this morning (have to pay those tuition fees somehow!) I remembered a question that my fellow student Jim had asked me in class on Wednesday. Who is the audience for my final major projec? My swift, unconsidered reply was ‘Teal, Anna, Ian and Max Bruinsma‘ (our external examiner). Upon consideration it seems like a valid and significant question. Am I talking only to other gay men, gay designers, gay graphic designers (are there any out there apart from me, I can only think of two that I went to college with both whom do not practice graphic design full-time. This seems limiting, perhaps I want to address the mainstream designer, straight, male, female. Perhaps I want to talk to the design student, who themselves may be gay and like myself when I graduated, felt daunted or not embraced when it came to feeling accepted, both at college and in the workplace.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this, to clarify: I am exploring the idea of whether there is or should be a gay authorial voice in design writing, at the present time I feel there is an absence.

I will write about my experiences of coming out as gay at Ravensbourne, and then starting work in the next post, this may resonate with others perhaps, and I’m feeling may be useful in terms of why I’m interested in this as a subject to write about? Is it, politically motivated as Orwell suggested? I’m not sure I would consider myself an activist, more like an observer with a vested interest!

Bye for now!

1 comment
  1. Funny, I’m making some of those same decisions myself; trying to decide if I should write from a black point of view (my own blogpost about it coming soon :).

    It’s tough isn’t it? You don’t want to be pigeonholed, but it’s who you are. I say, whether activist or observed with vested interest, just do what feels right. 🙂

    Good luck with your project.

Leave a Reply

